lamb and butternut squash

I’m fairly certain that lamb and rosemary are food BFFs. Well, okay, that’s a lie–rosemary and garlic are the real best friends and sometimes they like to hang out with lamb and when that happens, IT IS MAGICAL. Guys, I’m being serious.

For whatever tubby-induced reason (ok it was mostly because lamb is always delicious), I decided to make lamb chops for dinner.  Shout out to Zach for fueling my lamb cravings and sending me the original recipe!

I’m just going to shut up now and let you begin drooling on your keyboards. Start with rosemary, thyme, garlic, cayenne, and salt in a food processor.

Herbs in food processor

Mix until coarsely chopped and add olive oil. Rub marinade on both sides of lamb chops. Giada’s original recipe says you should let this marinate for about an hour.  I didn’t have an hour (read: I was impatient AKA really hungry) and only waited 30 minutes. It was still aaaaamazing.

IMG_2066

While the lamb chops marinated, I cubed up a butternut squash and sprinkled some light brown sugar, salt, and pepper over it with a little bit of olive oil.  This went into a 425º oven for 25 minutes.

IMG_2072

After 30-60 minutes (or until you’re so hungry you can’t wait any longer, like me), heat a grill pan. Get. It. Really. Hot. Like Ryan Gosling smokin’ hot.  Add the lamb chops and sear for ~3 minutes until they look like these babies below.  Flip and sear the other side for another 3 minutes. At this point, your kitchen smells like what I imagine heaven smells like… try not to drool all over your beautiful lamb chops.  If you MUST eat something due to your uncontrollable starvation, eat the slightly burnt, super crispy garlicy marinade bits that end up at the bottom of the pan… and you must.

IMG_2082

All done!

IMG_2092

Lamb chops and butternut squash… uggggghhhhhh so tubby, so good. My siblings won’t eat butternut squash and I had a little bit of garlic-rosemary-thyme marinade leftover, so I used it to coat some fingerling potatoes and threw those in the oven at 425º for 50 minutes. You can see a baby potato peeking out in the picture below.

IMG_2096

Aaaaand. If you have potatoes/butternut squash leftovers (I intentionally made extra!), make soup! Recipes are below.

Here’s the part where I leave a caveat regarding the accuracy of these recipes. When I’m cooking, I’m not really measuring.  I like to guestimate if I’m using a recipe and if I’m making up the recipe on the spot, I’m usually just tasting while I cook… so whoops, it’s not suuuuper precise. You’ve been warned!

lamb lollipops (original recipe)
ingredients
1/2 rack of lamb, cut into 8 lamb chops
6  garlic cloves, crushed
2 tablespoon fresh rosemary leaves
2 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
Pinch cayenne pepper
Kosher salt
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
directions
1. Add garlic, rosemary, thyme, cayenne, and salt to a food processor. Blend until coarsely chopped.  Add olive oil and pulse until fully mixed.
2. Salt/pepper lamb chops before rubbing marinade onto both sides of lamb chops.  Allow to marinate for ~30 minutes.
3. Heat a grill pan over high heat.  Sear each side of lamb chop for 3 minutes.
4. Devour.

roasted butternut squash
ingredients
1 medium sized butternut squash, chopped into 1-2 inch cubes
2 tablespoons brown sugar
salt, pepper
olive oil
directions
1. Preheat oven to 425º.
2. Drizzle olive oil over chopped butternut squash. Sprinkle brown sugar, salt, and pepper.
3. Mix and bake for 25 minutes.

roasted butternut squash soup
ingredients
roasted butternut squash (I used leftovers from the above recipe)
4 cups chicken broth
1 pear (I used a Bosc pear)
1 medium potato
1/4 cup of coconut cream
directions
1. Add the butternut squash, pear, and potato to a large pot. Cover with chicken broth.
2. Simmer for 20 minutes.
3. Carefully pour into a blender and blend until smooth.
4. Return blended soup back to pot and add coconut cream. Simmer for 5 minutes.
5. Enjoy! AKA my lunch leftovers for days!

Leave a Reply

