brown sugar banana cupcakes with peanut butter frosting and candied bacon

Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting and Candied Bacon
Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting and Candied Bacon

AKA the Elvis cupcake. Aaaaand, I’ve decided I’m going to name it the Kris cupcake. Why? Because if/when Michael and I finally open our #BARkery (bar + bakery), we want to name everything we sell after people we know. My friend Kris requested this cupcake back in September and I completely forgot about it until today.  It consists of all his favorite things, but let’s be honest–who doesn’t love banana peanut butter sandwiches? And then when you add the bacon… So good!

And ugh I’m sorry (not sorry) but I candied the bacon. CANDIED BACON. Candying bacon was surprisingly way more difficult than I thought it would be. And by “difficult” I meant it was really hard for me to wait and not eat the bacon because candying bacon requires that it bakes in the oven for over 30 minutes… AND THEN when it comes out, you have to wait some more for it to cool down. As it were, I have no patience so… my impatience + bacon that I can’t eat = some form of my own personal, delicious hell. Obviously I snuck a bite… or two… okay ten.

Anyway this is probably one of my favorite cupcakes because like Kris, I love the juxtaposition of salty bacon with sweet banana and savory peanut butter. I’m drooling even though I’ve already had two cupcakes.

Without further ado, the recipe:

brown sugar banana cupcakes (from howsweetitis)

ingredients: 

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 pinch of nutmeg
1 large egg
3/4 cup loosely packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line a cupcake/muffin tin with liners.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl – flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  3. In another bowl, mix egg, brown sugar, sour cream, melted butter, and vanilla.  Add mashed bananas.  You can mash the bananas separately if you want, but I just threw them into my Kitchenaid and let my mixer do the dirty work.
  4. Scoop into tin. I made mini cupcakes so it only took about 10 minutes for mine to finish.

peanut butter frosting

ingredients: 

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup creamy peanut butter
2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream

directions:

  1. Mix butter and peanut butter until smooth.
  2. Add powdered sugar until completely blended.
  3. Add heavy cream and mix until smooth and creamy–about 3 minutes (I used my Kitchenaid with the paddle attachment)
  4. Chill (I did for about 10 minutes) before piping/spreading onto cupcakes.

candied bacon

ingredients:

1 lb bacon, thick-cut
1/4 cup brown sugar (and a little more for final sprinkling)
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
dash of cinnamon

directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Mix brown sugar, maple syrup, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add bacon and mix thoroughly, making sure each slice of bacon has a coating of the brown sugar mixture.
  3. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place bacon in strips–I used two baking sheets.
  4. Bake for 30-50 minutes.
  5. Try not to eat the bacon before it’s done candy-ing.
  6. The bacon will be crispy and browned–but not burnt–when it’s ready to come out of the oven.  Place the bacon on parchment paper to cool (or else it will cool and stick to itself/the aluminum foil and you do not want to deal with that mess).
  7. Eat. All. The. Bacon. Just kidding, make sure you save some so that you can top your cupcakes!
One thought on “brown sugar banana cupcakes with peanut butter frosting and candied bacon”

Leave a Reply

